Biography

Talleen Hacikyan is a visual artist, art teacher and fiction writer, based in Montreal. She has an Honors BA in Anthropology from McGill University and a BA in Fine Arts and Fine Arts Education from Université du Québec à Montréal. She has been a member of Atelier Circulaire, a printmaking studio in Montreal, since 1985.

Through the years Talleen’s prints have brought her popular and critical acclaim: First prize at the Loto-Québec printmaking Competition (1991), and Prix Pierre Henry, awarded by Pratt & Whitney Canada (1993).

She has held many solo exhibitions. Included are: The Saidye Bronfman Centre for the Arts (2004, 1999) in Montreal, La Maison de la Culture de Trois-Rivières (2002) in Trois-Rivières, Quebec, Pratt & Whitney Canada (1993) in Longueuil, Quebec, Loto-Quebec (1992) in Montreal, and the Museo Rayo (1992) in Roldanillo, Colombia. She has participated in over fifty juried group exhibitions in North America, Cuba, Mexico, Peru, France, Spain, Portugal, Taiwan, and Australia.

Her work can be seen in collections such as Alcan, Banque Nationale du Canada, Banque National du Québec, Bibliothèque et Archives nationales du Québec, Domtar, Guindon Charron, J.C. Gauthier and Associates, La Fédération des Caisses Populaires, Les Productions Charbonneau, Loto-Québec, Musée Papeterie St-Gilles, Museo Rayo, and Pratt & Whitney Canada.

Talleen gives printmaking workshops in studios and schools across Quebec. In 2003 she taught woodcut printing at the Nunavik Annual Art Workshops to a group of Inuit artists in Inukjuak, Nunavik.

 




talleen hacikyan

Biographie

Talleen Hacikyan est une artiste en arts visuels, une professeure d’art et une auteure de fiction, qui réside à Montréal. Elle a obtenu un Baccalauréat en anthropologie de l’Université McGill et un Baccalauréat en arts plastiques et enseignement des arts plastiques de l’Université du Québec, à Montréal. Depuis 1985, elle est membre de l’Atelier Circulaire, un atelier de gravure de Montréal,.

Au fil des années les estampes de Talleen ont été saluées unanimement par le public et les critiques : Premier Prix du concours d’estampe de Loto-Québec (1991) et Prix Pierre Henry, décerné par Pratt et Whitney Canada (1993).

Talleen compte à son actif plusieurs expositions solo, parmi lesquelles au Centre des Arts Saidye Bronfman (2004, 1999) à Montréal, à La Maison de la Culture de Trois-Rivières (2002), Québec, à Pratt & Whitney Canada (1993) à Longueuil, Québec, à Loto-Québec (1992) à Montréal et au Museo Rayo (1992) à Roldanillo, Colombie. Elle a également participé à plus de cinquante expositions de groupe en Amérique du Nord, à Cuba, au Mexique, au Pérou, en France, en Espagne, au Portugal, au Taiwan et en Australie.

Les œuvres de l’artiste se retrouvent dans de nombreuses collections, en particulier chez Alcan, à la Banque Nationale du Canada, la Banque Nationale du Québec, la Bibliothèque et Archives nationales du Québec, Domtar, J.C. Gauthier et Associés, la Fédération des Caisses Populaires, Les Productions Charbonneau, Loto-Québec, le Musée Papeterie St-Gilles, le Museo Rayo et Pratt & Whitney Canada.

Talleen donne des stages d’estampe dans les ateliers et les écoles situées dans tout le Québec. En 2003, elle a enseigné la gravure sur bois à un groupe d’artistes innuits, à Inukjuak, dans le cadre du Nunavik Annual Art Workshops, Nunavik.



talleen hacikyan